Tasty Madness

Take the Time to Chill

Posted on: February 28, 2008

Cup Cakes

By Heather Blanchette
WE MOVED TO THE NEW TASTYMADNESS.COM
As a second semester Senior in college, I am told daily by my family and classmates to chill-out; but who would have guessed my baked goods needed the same reminder! A girls-night-in always requires snacks, and in an attempt to heed the warnings about spending too much time on schoolwork I decided to set aside designated baking time yesterday morning before my friends came over.

I have an addiction to cupcakes. My favorite is yellow cake with pink, strawberry icing, topped with an overwhelming amount of sprinkles! But yesterday, making the same cupcakes I make all the time seemed boring, and instead I decided to do some experimenting—and who better to test out baking experiments than your friends (who will hopefully lie and tell you whatever you made rocks, even if it actually tastes like rocks).

I’m known for my cheesecake cupcakes, with graham cracker crust and strawberries and chocolate sauce on top, but this time I was going for something a little different. I had a craving for smores like it was nobody’s business. And what better way to bring back childhood campfire memories than through a cupcake? cup cake 2

I made a special trip to the grocery store early yesterday morning for all the ingredients I needed. I knew I didn’t have much time, so I bought pre-made marshmallow and chocolate sauce toppings, but I took the time to make my own graham cracker crust.

I spent twenty minutes crushing up the graham crackers as finely as possible, then added about a half stick of butter to make the crust stick together in the cupcake tins. On top of the crust I added two tablespoons of marshmallow sauce, and on top of that a dollop of thick chocolate sauce. Then I poured sprinkles around the chocolate. And finally, I took a toothpick and swirled the marshmallow and chocolate sauce together to make them that much cuter!

After leaving them in the refrigerator for six hours I was so excited as my friend dared to try one. And although it was funny to see her covered in marshmallow goo after her first bite, I realized, a little too late, that the freezer would have been a better home for my cupcakes than the fridge. They’re in there now, so I’ll keep you posted on how they turn out!

Ingredients (makes 12 cupcakes):

-6 Full Graham Crackers

-1/2 Stick Butter

-1 Jar Smuckers Marshmallow Sauce

-1/2 Jar Smuckers Chocolate Sauce

-Sprinkles

2 Responses to "Take the Time to Chill"

These are soo cute, but definitely require a spoon to eat! Then again, they say the best foods are the messiest ones 🙂

They look so pretty! Marshmallow always seems delicious, but definitely gooey. Hope they turned out well!

Leave a Reply

Categories

