Tasty Madness

Rice Crispy Treats, It’s Better Than Breakfast!

Posted on: March 4, 2008

By Heather Blanchette 

 

<font face=”Times New
WE MOVED TO THE NEW TASTYMADNESS.COMRoman”>Sophomore year of college I had what can only be described as an unhealthy addiction to rice crispy treats. Every night I would leave my dorm room and trek down the street to the nearest dining hall to buy an overpriced, brick sized rice crispy block; only to have finished the entire thing before I even got back to my room. Seriously, the amount of rice crispy blocks I ate that year could probably have paved half of Boston.

After moving further up campus Junior year, the craving continued. Since the dining hall was further, and I am lazy, I decided to try my hand at making my own rice crispy treats. Rather than walk five minutes down the road to Shaws, I decided to buy cereal from the small convenience store right downstairs. They did not carry Kellogs Rice Krispies cereal though, which seemed like a disappointment at the time.

 Rice Krispies Cereal Rice Krispies Treat

I perused the display of cereal for what seemed like hours, especially since the cereal “wall” consisted of only six different cereals, two of which were healthy, so those were out, obviously. I was left to make a decision between Fruit Loops, Apple Jacks, Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Frosted Cheerios. For fear of making the sales associates suspicious by standing there any longer, I grabbed all four boxes, emptied the shelf of marshmallows, and bought two packs of butter.

 Fruit Loops          Apple Jacks Cereal           Cheerio Cereal           Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cereal

Now the recipe I was using only called for two cups of cereal, but since I was used to rice crispy treats on steroids, I figured I would have to take baby steps to get down to eating normal sized treats. So I poured the entire first box out into a mixing bowl.

I put half a stick of butter and a bag of mini marshmallows in another bowl and nuked them for about a minute; waiting impatiently while watching the oozing goodness in the microwave.

I ripped the bowl out of the microwave at the first beep of the timer and poured my huge mixing bowl full of cereal into the gooey mess. There is only one thing I ask of inventors throughout the world, please, find me a way to mix these treats that actually works. I have no idea how the Kellogs company gets their treats so perfectly mixed between cereal, marshmallow and butter, because let me tell you, a simple spoon does nothing but get stuck in the quickly hardening goo.

Forget the spoon, if you’re not willing to get your hands dirty then rice crispy treats should not be on your baking to-do-list. Not only is it easier to mix the ingredients with both hands, but if you expect that the now sticky cereal is going to magically roll itself into a ball, or spread itself evenly into a pan, you are officially certifiable.

As for my opinion on the best cereal to use to make these treats, the winner is Apple Jacks by a long run. Runner up would go to Frosted Cheerios, third place to Fruit Loops and sadly Cinnamon Toast Crunch just does not work because those little squares are not as sturdy as they look!

Rice Crispy Treats  

Recipe:

1 large bag of miniature marshmallows

1 tablespoon butter

2 cups of the cereal of your choice

Melt butter and marshmallows together in microwavable bowl. Mix in cereal and stir until fully mixed. Roll pieces into small balls, or spread mixture into a pan and let cool to cut into squares.

2 Responses to "Rice Crispy Treats, It’s Better Than Breakfast!"

MMM delicious, after my wife tried to kill me my niece made these for me

Sounds risky, but a delicious attempt.

Leave a Reply

Categories

